To protest or not to protest

I got back to granny’s early this morning to learn that the second student protest in as many weeks was taking place in central London. I genuinely considered joining it; I had a day off, there was no excuse not to. But it was cold and I had a bit of work to do and I’m bloody enjoying reading Birdsong for the second time, and so I convinced myself that it would be “more real” on the TV in any case. When it was too late, and BBC News 24 were streaming the live pictures, I regretted my laziness.
I was interested in going to the protests, not because I agree with the other students, but to see what it was like first hand. I don’t disagree with them either. Sadly, I am indifferent to the whole issue which is perhaps the genuine reason for my apathy. I am a student so perhaps I should stand shoulder to shoulder with others and protest for the sake of future generations.
But the rise in tuition fees won’t affect me – I will leave university at the end of this academic year. Even if I was four years younger and just about to start university, I would be safe in the knowledge that my parents would cough up for tuition fees. “That’s unfair you stinking RA”, I hear you cry. Absolutely right, it is unfair. But I make no apologies for it – I don’t think a single protestor would insist on paying their parents back the £9, 000 if they offered to cover it.
I will briefly add my voice to those who have already denounced the violence. It is counter-productive and does nothing except lose the protestors sympathy and support. I suspect that only a small number are involved in these acts and that the media have disproportionately focussed on the violence. I also suspect that most of the violence is not caused by genuinely aggrieved students but by yobs and anarchists, who enjoy a fight and a spot of vandalism.
I understand the position of the vast majority of the protestors though. Many amongst them will face an increase in repayments after university and no doubt some amongst them will not be able to afford to go. And I understand the anger aimed at the coalition, particularly the Liberal Democrats. Nick Clegg and co. have gone back on an election promise and, regardless of whether they now have more information or have seen the light, that is bad form.
I do wonder though if the majority of the student protestors have actually examined the new proposals to work out if it will actually affect them. If Vince Cable’s Bill is passed then some of the poorest students won’t pay anything towards tuition fees at all. How many of today’s protestors would qualify?
I’m not the radical or political type but every now and then I’d quite like to be. I imagine myself in designer brogues and skinny jeans, rejecting the establishment and challenging the government. Part of me thinks that’s what students are supposed to be like (the brogues and skinny jeans are optional). I almost wish I was going through a “phase” and reading the Communist Manifesto for pleasure.
Alas, the rise in tuition fees just isn’t an issue I feel strongly enough about. I reiterate that I have no problem with those who want to peacefully protest – good luck. But I also see the government position. Cuts have to be made, the budget has to be reduced some how.
So for now, with a tinge of regret, I will continue to leave the protest to the committed edgy people. But if an issue comes up that I’m really passionate about, perhaps I will get the chance to join in a protest before long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment